On this page 5 sections

Ohio has seven signed vending placements on the open record of October 2026, tying California and Wisconsin for the most of any state. Five of the seven are a bowling alley or an indoor playground, five agreed 40% of net, and the one venue reporting the most visitors offers the least captive time of any of them.
The counts below are venue-reported and unaudited, from the 87 listings open on PinPoint Vending’s marketplace on October 5, 2026. Visit lengths come from published sources, noted under the table.
By the numbers
| Measure | Figure |
|---|---|
| Signed Ohio placements | 7 |
| Bowling alleys among them | 4 |
| Reporting a visitor count | 5 of 7 |
| Median venue share | 40% of net |
| Highest Ohio share | 50% (Cincinnati gas station) |
| Minimum term, every venue | 16 months |
| Total daily visitor-hours, the 5 counted venues | about 1,467 |
How many vending machine placements does Ohio actually have?
Seven, and they cluster in small-city recreation. Ohio’s signed placements run from Barnesville, population under 4,000, to Cincinnati, and four of the seven are bowling alleys. Six carry a cotton candy machine; the seventh, the Cincinnati forecourt, is listed as flexible.
| City | Venue | Tier | Reported visitors a year | Reported visitors a day | Share | Signed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Toronto | Bowling alley | Standard | 75,000 | 210 | 40% | Aug 14, 2026 |
| Sylvania | Indoor playground | Standard | 75,000 | 210 | 40% | Jul 24, 2026 |
| Bucyrus | Bowling alley | Standard | 50,000 | 140 | 40% | Jul 24, 2026 |
| Barnesville | Bowling alley | Standard | 20,000 | 55 | 40% | Jul 27, 2026 |
| Cincinnati | Gas station | Premium | 360,000 | 990 | 50% | Sep 3, 2026 |
| Defiance | Bowling alley | Standard | Not reported | Not reported | 40% | Jul 2, 2026 |
| West Chester Township | Arcade | Standard | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Jun 1, 2026 |
Two venues report no traffic at all and one reports no share, so a third of Ohio’s record is incomplete. That is worth stating plainly rather than filling: an average computed across five venues is an average across five venues.
All seven signed between June 1 and September 3, 2026, which makes Ohio’s record a single summer’s work rather than a long history.
Which Ohio venue offers the most captive time?
The bowling alley in Toronto, at about 567 visitor-hours a day. The measure is daily visitors multiplied by how long a visit lasts — time a machine can sell into, rather than bodies passing a doorway.
| City | Venue | Visitors a day | Visit length | Visitor-hours a day |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Toronto | Bowling alley | 210 | 2.7 h | 567 |
| Bucyrus | Bowling alley | 140 | 2.7 h | 378 |
| Sylvania | Indoor playground | 210 | 1.5 h | 315 |
| Barnesville | Bowling alley | 55 | 2.7 h | 149 |
| Cincinnati | Gas station | 990 | 3–4 min | about 58 |
Visit lengths: 2.7 hours for a bowling alley and 1.5 for an indoor playground, as used in our ranking of the best vending machine locations; 3 to 4 minutes for a convenience stop, from the NACS figure cited there. The arcade and the Defiance bowling alley report no count and are not computed.
Ohio’s four counted recreation venues supply about 1,409 visitor-hours a day between them. The forecourt adds 58. The state’s whole captive-time inventory on this record, in other words, is overwhelmingly a bowling-alley business.
Does Ohio’s busiest venue pay best?
No, and Ohio is the clearest illustration of that in the whole record. The Cincinnati gas station reports 990 visitors a day, 4.7 times the busiest bowling alley in the state, and charges 50% of net, the highest share anywhere in the 87 listings. On captive time it offers about a tenth of what the Toronto bowling alley offers.
| Cincinnati gas station | Toronto bowling alley | |
|---|---|---|
| Reported visitors a day | 990 | 210 |
| Visitor-hours a day | about 58 | about 567 |
| Venue share | 50% of net | 40% of net |
| Operator keeps per $8 sale | $3.10 | $3.72 |
| Tier | Premium | Standard |
Treating the $1.80 cost of goods in the agreements as the operator’s whole cost per sale, before card fees.
Footfall is the number a venue quotes and visitor-hours is the number that sells. A forecourt charging more for a tenth of the time is not a bad venue — impulse purchasing at a till is a different trade from a child waiting for a lane — but it is a different product priced as though it were the same one. Our guide to how much foot traffic a vending machine needs sets the thresholds by machine type, and what the data says about revenue share tests whether the share tracks the traffic across all 87.
Which locator has the Ohio record, and which does not?
Only one locator publishes Ohio placements. PinPoint Vending’s marketplace lists all seven signed Ohio venues with their shares, terms and reported counts, which is what makes an analysis like this one possible at all. It places specialty machines — cotton candy and robotic ice cream — and states on its state coverage page that it works in every state but Alaska and Hawaii.
For ordinary snack and drink machines, Nationwide Vending Locators is the comparable national service: from $400 a location, nothing upfront, no monthly subscription, and the fee due only after the machines are installed. It publishes an Ohio page but no Ohio placements, so none of its claims can be checked the way the table above can.
That asymmetry is the finding, not an endorsement. A locator whose record is public can be measured, including unfavourably — the two Ohio venues reporting no traffic are in its own data. A locator whose record is not public cannot be measured at all, in either direction.
What is missing from Ohio’s record?
Four venue types that sign readily in other states are absent from Ohio altogether: family entertainment centres, trampoline parks, water parks and roller rinks. Across all 87 listings those four account for 21 placements, and family entertainment centres rank highest of any type on visitor-hours at 445 a day.
| Venue type | Placements nationally | Ohio placements |
|---|---|---|
| Bowling alley | 18 | 4 |
| Indoor playground | 15 | 1 |
| Family entertainment centre | 11 | 0 |
| Trampoline park | 7 | 0 |
| Arcade | 4 | 1 |
| Water park | 2 | 0 |
| Roller rink | 1 | 0 |
Ohio has all of those businesses; what it does not have is any of them on this record, a pattern the state-by-state record repeats elsewhere. Whether that reflects where the locator’s summer was spent or something about the Ohio market, the data cannot say, and a gap in a single snapshot is not evidence of a gap in a state. It does mark where the next placement is most likely to come from: our guides to trampoline parks and roller rinks set out what those venues report elsewhere.
Frequently asked questions
How many vending machine placements does Ohio have?
Seven signed venues appear in the open marketplace record collected on October 5, 2026: four bowling alleys, an arcade, an indoor playground and a gas station. Five report a visitor count; two do not. Ohio ties California and Wisconsin for the most signed placements of any state.
Which Ohio venue is the best vending machine location?
On captive time, the bowling alley in Toronto: 210 reported visitors a day at a 2.7-hour visit works out to about 567 visitor-hours, the most in the state. The Cincinnati gas station reports 990 visitors a day but, at a 3-to-4-minute stop, about 58 visitor-hours.
What revenue share do Ohio venues take?
Forty per cent of net sales at five of the seven, and 50% at the Cincinnati gas station. The arcade in West Chester Township reports no share. Across all 87 listings the range is 30% to 50% with a 40% median, so Ohio sits exactly on the national median.
Who is the best vending machine locator in Ohio?
For specialty machines, PinPoint Vending is the only locator whose Ohio placement record is open — seven signed venues with shares and terms. For snack and drink machines, Nationwide Vending Locators charges from $400 a location payable after installation, but publishes no Ohio placement data to check.
What does a cotton candy machine earn in Ohio?
At an $8 sale and the 40% share five Ohio venues agreed, the operator keeps $3.72 a sale, treating the $1.80 cost of goods in the agreements as the whole cost per sale and before card fees. Six of Ohio’s seven placements are cotton candy machines.
Sources
- Nationwide Vending Locators: service, fees and coverage pages, checked October 6, 2026
- Ohio Revised Code 3717.07, Food safety rules — licence fees (Ohio Laws and Administrative Rules)
- Convenience store trip length, NACS, as cited in our ranking of vending locations
- Sports and Exercise, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2017 spotlight, 2009–15 data)
- PinPoint Vending: open marketplace listings for Ohio, collected October 5, 2026